Full form of IPS: Check services, Exam highlights, age limit, Qualification ,Attempts.

 The full form of IPS is Indian Police Service. The Indian Police Service (IPS) is one of the three all-India branches of the Indian government. IPS was established in 1948. The cadre controlled by IPS is the Ministry of the Interior. IPS Examination The Indian Police Service Examination is part of the Civil Service Examination (CSE), which is conducted annually by the United Public Service Commission (UPSC). 

IPS officials IPS (Indian Police Service) officials perform their duties. 

  • IPS (Indian Police Service) officials perform their duties to protect the public. 
  • IPS officials also serve the state and the central government.
  •  His main duty is to maintain public peace. IPS pays more attention to public order. At the regional level, public order is the collective responsibility of IPS and IAS officials; investigation and crime prevention; traffic control, drug prevention, accident prevention and management, etc.
  •  His main responsibilities are to lead and command Indian intelligence agencies, such as the Ministry of Research and Analysis (R&AW), Bureau of Intelligence (IB), Central Bureau of Investigation (CBI), Department of Investigation (CID), etc.

Branches in IPS

 Indian federal law enforcement agencies, civil and armed police In order to perform these functions efficiently, responsibly, and systematically in all states and regions of the alliance’s IPS headquarters, the IPS service is divided into several functional departments, such as the Criminal Division, the Criminal Investigation Department (CID), the Family Guard, and the Transportation Office.

 IPS exam highlights 

The selection of the Indian Police Service (IPS) will be completed through the Civil Service Examination (CSE) conducted by UPSC and more than 20 services. The application process and selection process are common to all services. Approximately more than 800,000 candidates take the IPS exam every year. 

The selection process for IPS includes preliminary, main exam and interview/personality test. The annual selection process will start in June, start from the preliminary round, and end in April. The final list of CSE results will be released in May. 

Qualification Standards 

1. Physique Standards

 The physique standards for IPS official qualifications are as follows: 

Minimum height-    male-165 cm       Female-150 cm 

The loose minimum height for candidates belonging to ST and race is 160 cm (male) and 145 cm (female) Gorkhas, Garhwalias, Assamese, Kumaonis, Nagaland Tribals, etc.

 Minimum Bust -Male/Female: 84cm 79cm

 Myopia (including cylinders) must not exceed 4.00D 

Hypermyopia(including cylinders) must not exceed 4.00D 

Strabismus is unqualified glasses allowing eyes with better vision distance (Corrected vision) must be 6/6 or 6/9 of the worst eye. Distance vision (uncorrected vision) must be 6/12 or 6/9. Near vision must be J1 and J2 respectively. Advanced color vision and binocular vision are required.

 2. Nationality:

 A The nationality of the candidate must be one of the following: 

  • Indian citizen 
  • subject of Nepalese or Bhutanese
  •  Tibetan refugees who arrived in India early on January 1, 1962 and settled permanently in India.
  •  Immigrants from any of the following countries have settled permanently in India:

 Pakistan, Myanmar, Sri Lanka, East Africa, Kenya, Uganda, United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia, Malawi, Zaire, Ethiopia and Vietnam.

 3. Educational qualifications: 

Candidates must be eligible for UGC A bachelor’s degree from one of the recognized universities or equivalent.

 4. Age restrictions:

 Candidates must meet the following age restrictions: 

  • Minimum age 21 years old 
  • Maximum age 32 years old (as of August 1 of the exam year).

5. Number of attempts:

  • Highest Number of attempts for the blind, deaf, and orthopedic disabled in 10 years: 
  • The limitation on the maximum number of attempts since 1984 is in effect: 
  • For general candidates: 6 attempts (up to 32 years old) 
  • Pre-determined caste and tribal candidates (SC/ST)) : Unlimited (up to 37 years) 
  • Other backward classes (OBC): 9 attempts (up to 35 years)
  • Physical disability: General and OBC 9 attempts, while SC/ST unlimited

6. roles and responsibilities 

  1.  in maintaining peace and public Order, crime prevention, investigation and discovery, collecting intelligence reports, caring for VIP safety, combating terrorism, border patrol, railway surveillance, labor prevention smuggling, drug trafficking, economic crime, corruption and other fields, in disaster management, socioeconomic law enforcement, biological diving Play a key role in the effectiveness and defense of environmental law. 
  2. Exchange information with Indian intelligence agencies such as R&AW, IB, CID, CBI, and lead the Central Armed Police Force (CRPF) 
  3. maintain regular contact with them. Interact and coordinate with the Indian Revenue Service (IRS) and the Indian Armed Forces. 
  4. Serve the people of the country with complete integrity, honesty and wholehearted dedication. 

Exam Syllabus 

The Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) civil service examination program is divided into three categories, namely preliminary, principal and interview. 

The primary course aims to assess the candidate’s current and ability understanding and abilities within the specified time. Preliminary work is mandatory and qualified work. 

The Mains syllabus is basically designed to judge the academic experience of candidates in their professional disciplines. The study plan also focuses on assessing the applicant’s ability to present knowledge in a clear and consistent manner. The main exam consists of 9 assignments, and the study plan is designed according to the designated subjects. 

The preliminary and main syllabus is designed for the written examination. Candidates who pass the preliminary exam and the main exam can participate in the interview.

Leave a Comment